Exploring the Ocean Floor

Hello ocean lovers. My name is Richard Fast. I am 75, and really enjoying life in Jacksonville, Florida. I am a retired Navy submariner (30 years) with a follow-on career as a commercial pilot. I moved to Florida two years ago from Michigan following my wife’s retirement from the FAA (she is also a pilot). My favorite place to be is near the ocean, on the ocean, viewing sealife, fishing, and recording underwater videos. I used to SCUBA dive but I am getting a little old to still be doing that, so I have come up with a substitute: dropping cameras down from a boat. Not quite the same, but it is what I can still do safely.

There are over 100 artificial reef sites off of the Jacksonville coastline 10 to 30 miles out, in 50 to 100 feet of water. I find it really enjoyable to view and video record the ocean floor and undersea life near these reefs. I hope you will also enjoy watching undersea life through my videos and pictures. You can see my work to date on youtube. Here is the address:

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfrBd5oYSFw23bt3uzuU5KQ

 

Leave a comment